Our framework for education and development is the Early Years Foundation Stage.

The three prime areas of the EYFS are:
Communication and language: speaking and listening
Physical development: being active and making healthy choices
Personal, social and emotional development: positive relationships and social skills

These three prime areas of development are strengthened and applied through learning and development in four specific areas, which are:
Literacy: foundations of reading and writing
Mathematics: numbers, shape and space
Understanding the world: exploring the community
Expressive arts and design: exploring feelings through creative activities

Learning is play-based, and even though the children may not be aware of it they will be acquiring and practising new skills throughout the day. Activities are tailored to suit children’s capabilities, individual needs and interests.

Each term at Pre-School is planned around an overall theme (previous themes have included ‘African safari’, ‘farmyard’, ‘airport’ and ‘castles and fairy tales’) which informs that term’s visits, role play, art and activities.